Change The Way You See Your Self

Sometimes I feel on top of the world, like I can do just about anything without giving up. There are times when I do feel like life has gotten me down and pushed me to the ground to where I can not get up. Lets talk about one category that makes people think differently about them selved and that one thing is Bullying.

Your probably wondering why Bullying and how does that change the way you feel about your self. Well words like “Your Fat” or” Your Dumb” does change the way you feel about yourself you feel like maybe there right maybe I am dumb or fat but the honesty of it is that its not true what they say about you.This year at my High School my friend was getting picked on by this mean girl. The mean girl had just gotten made fun of because she started her monthly and she was wearing white so long story short people saw it and started making fun of her. She started to cry and I thought well thats what you get for being mean but I also at the same time felt sorry for her. The mean girl went to my friend and was messing around with her and that started the fight. my friend was getting ready to punch her.

I was wanting  to do the same thing because she was calling me “Short Shit” I may be short but I can be twice my size when I am angry 5 1 and I can turn 6 1 within seconds. My friend said touch me and I will punch you to the mean girl. So the mean girl said ” I bet you cant you chicken”!! So I had to hold my friend back before she hit her and got in trouble. I told the mean girl my friend is not a chicken and do not underestimate her I would recommend walking away right now!!!!

Later that day the mean girl apologized for her rude behavior but she is still mean but we ignore her and walk away from her. I used to get bullied since I was in 6th grade and I always felt bad about myself I got called things from Pizza Face to Four Eyes and Geek to Looser. I was always the last one picked for any gym games or if we had to work on teams for a project they would look at me and say eww we dont want to sit with her.

Everyday I sit at lunch alone and think about my future and why I am so alone. I see others with there friends laughing having a good time and maybe in the future when I go to college I will have more friends and when I get my career started I can also get some friends from work. I have come to realize there will always be some one mean you might run into in the future and I will give you some tips on what to do to cope with bullying.

When you look in the Mirrior think good things about your self like I am smart or I am funny and good looking or I am going to make something of myself. Sometimes we may not have many friends is because many teens are into drugs or getting high and they want you to do the same and I would not get involved with what there doing trust me. Also do things you like to do like me I like to roller blade and write stories and that keeps my mind away from the memories of getting made fun of. If someone is picking on you tell the teacher or confront the bully and tell them what there doing is bothering you and how it makes you feel and if they make it worse then tell the princibal.

Talk to a counselor. At my old school in NM for some of us teens we had our own personal counselor and I really loved that because I had someone who listened to me about how I felt and it seemed like my counselor understood what I was going through. Now that I am here in WA I do not have a counselor and it is hard just to go to someone and tell them how I feel our about my problems.So what I do is I write in my journal that helps me because I can express my self.

Just like Michael J. Fox I am always looking up. Even when people make fun of me I ignore it and realize I am better then they say I am and I keep looking forward to each day. I dont let there attitude affect me. I choose not to get down to there level, they may be going through a tough time themselves but either way I know I am a good person no matter what others may say. If someone makes fun of you dont let it affect you keep your head held high and show them there wrong and that it dont bother you.

“Live Each day like it is a adventure worth exploring”!!!!

About hopeortiz

I am 19 a senior in high school. My hero is Michael J. Fox who not only has inspired me but many around the world. I am trying very hard to start a fundraiser here in WA but I am trying to get all the help I can get so I can do so. I will be writing a new blog every day or when I can of course about Michael J. Fox and the Michael J. Fox foundation for Parkinsons Research. I hope you like my posts feel free to comment on them if you like it would mean alot to me :)The picture on my Gravatar is Mr. Fox the best thing I like about the picture is he is smiling I love to smile and be joyfull each day. I love to roller blade and dance. I hope whoever reads my posts willl like them :)
This entry was posted in About Michael J. Fox. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Change The Way You See Your Self

  1. omahadick says:

    Hi Hope. Thanks for this terrific post. I was really small as a kid and suffered a little bullying, but I have to say someone almost always stood up for me. And some of the older boys who picked on me did it with affection. For example, in junior high school one very tall red-headed boy would often pick me up and refuse to put me down or he would sit behind me in class and move my desk around with his feet. One day in eighth grade (my least favorite period in my life) he was behind me in the lunch line. He wouldn’t stop putting me in head locks and tickling me. I finally pulled away from him and said, “Why do you hate me!” He got very serious (and hurt actually). He said, “I don’t hate you. You’re my best friend.”

    I didn’t comment to disagree with your post. I’ve worked with kids and seen some terrible bullying. I think it’s gotten a lot worse since I was young. On another note, I now run an arts program for people with developmental disabilities, and one of my students with Downs Syndrome watches Family Ties re-runs religiously. She adores Michael J. Fox and calls him her boyfreind.

    • hopeortiz says:

      I like your comment I am a huge fan of Mr. Fox but I dont call him my boy friend he is someone I look up to as a hero. I am glad you like my post I am not disabled however I do got hearing problems and some learning problems but I have managed to succeed thanks again for the comment

Leave a Reply

